top of page
  • Writer's pictureUpCountry Artists

Become an UpCountry Artist!

About us:

Upcountry Artists (UCA), a non-profit organization, was formed in 1986 to encourage, support, educate artists, and develop public awareness of the arts in Western Maine. Our members represent a variety of artistic media.

We hold quarterly meetings at which various programs such as marketing the arts, panel discussions, art critiques and workshops are held.

We keep our members informed of current shows, gallery openings, and other art-related opportunities through our website and newsletter.


Upcountry Artists awards scholarships annually to local high school graduates and Maine university art students studying art or a related field.

Applicants must present a portfolio of their artwork, a written statement of what art means to them, and proof of acceptance at a college/school of art, as well as a recommendation from their art teacher.

The applications are then judged by a committee of UCA artists. UCA also offers scholarship opportunities to its members to continue learning, taking classes, and exploring the arts.

If you know of a scholarship candidate, please let us know:

Artists Memberships

Individual Memberships are $25 per year.

Membership includes a link to your web page through our web site and Facebook page, which we use on all promotional material we produce and distribute.

Membership Application Form

Community Memberships

Business and organization memberships are $25 per year. Membership includes a link to your page through our web site, which is then available to all of our members and potential customer for you.

The Sugarloaf Art Show

You must be a member of UCA in order to participate in our popular annual juried two-day Sugarloaf Art Show.

The show is held at Sugarloaf Mountain in Carrabassett Valley during peak foliage and skiers homecoming. It is heavily marketed, and our goal is to grow it into a major showcase for rural and western Maine. artists.

Current UCA members are invited to apply for the show first. Show applications and the jurying process open in June prior to each year's October show.

Membership Application Form

Board Members:

Kathleen Perelka, President

Karen Campbell, Vice President

Paula Wade, Treasurer

Jean Benson, Secretary

Claudia Diller

Peggy Gallant

Joe Gambino

Wendy Rosenthal

Christy Whitmore

Members at Large:

Marcia Baker

Joe Ray

Fred O. Smith

Lucia Swallow

Nora West

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page